As campaign looms, Liberals fill slate while nominations keep coming

The entire Liberal caucus is attempting re-election. Two Independents hope to keep their seats. A new party gives voters a fourth choice. The NDP casts a small slate of new political faces. And the Tories are pushing the Crosbie name out in two St. John’s districts. 

As the Newfoundland and Labrador election campaign officially gets underway, let’s take a look at candidates whose names will be on ballots this May. 

As of Wednesday afternoon, the Liberals have secured a candidate for each race in the upcoming provincial election.

The PCs inch closer to a full slate with a promise to have a candidate in all 40 districts.

The Newfoundland and Labrador NDP has four candidates in place thus far, none of whom have sat in government before. (NL NDP)

Meanwhile, the NDP will have just one more candidate by Thursday than the province’s fourth — and newest — party, NL Alliance. 

The NL Alliance was founded last November by Graydon Pelley, the former president of the Progressive Conservative party.

Below is a list of each district and the candidates that have so far been nominated for each party. 

Baie Verte – Green Bay

  • Liberal: Brian Warr — Incumbent
  • PC: Neville Robinson


  • Liberal: Neil King — Incumbent
  • PC: Craig Pardy

Burgeo – La Poile

  • Liberal: Andrew Parsons — Incumbent

Burin – Grand Bank

  • Liberal: Carol Anne Haley — Incumbent 

Cape St. Francis

  • Liberal: Michael Duffy 
  • PC: Kevin Parsons — Incumbent

Carbonear – Trinity – Bay de Verde

  • Liberal: Steve Crocker — Incumbent
  • PC: Jason Oliver

Cartwright – L’Anse au Clair

  • Liberal: Lisa Dempster — Incumbent

Conception Bay East – Bell Island

  • Liberal: Cyril Hayden 
  • PC: David Brazil — Incumbent

Conception Bay South

  • Liberal: Kevin Baker
  • PC: Barry Petten — Incumbent

Corner Brook

  • Independent: Wayne Bennett
  • Liberal: Gerry Byrne — Incumbent


  • Independent: Gloria Cooper
  • Liberal: Jerry Dean — Incumbent
  • PC: Pleaman Forsey


  • Liberal: Janice Ryan
  • PC: *Two people are vying for nomination

Tory Keith Hutchings has held the seat since 2007, but has decided not to seek re-election. 

Fogo Island – Cape Freels

  • Liberal: Derrick Bragg — Incumbent

Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune

  • Liberal: Elvis Loveless

PC Tracey Perry has held the seat for 12 years but has not confirmed whether she is seeking re-election. 


  • Liberal: John Haggie — Incumbent
  • PC: Ryan Wagg

Grand Falls-Windsor – Buchans

  • Liberal: Al Hawkins — Incumbent
  • PC: Chris Tibbs

Harbour Grace – Port de Grave

  • Liberal: Pam Parsons — Incumbent
  • PC: Glenn Littlejohn

Glenn Littlejohn sat in the House of Assembly from 2011 to 2015, until he was defeated by Parsons. 

Harbour Main

  • Liberal: Betty Parsley — Incumbent
  • NL Alliance: Mike Cooze
  • PC: * Four people are vying for the nomination

Humber – Bay of Islands

  • Independent: Eddie Joyce — Incumbent
  • Liberal: Brian Dicks 

Humber – Gros Morne

  • Liberal: Dwight Ball — Incumbent

Labrador West

  • Liberal: Graham Letto — Incumbent
  • NDP: Jordan Brown

Lake Melville

  • Liberal: Perry Trimper — Incumbent
  • PC: Shannon Tobin

Lewisporte – Twillingate

  • Liberal: Derek Bennett — Incumbent

Mount Pearl – Southlands

  • Independent: Paul Lane — Incumbent
  • Liberal: Hasan Hai 
  • PC: Gillian Pearson

Longtime politicians Eddie Joyce and Paul Lane both plan to run as Independents in the upcoming provincial election. (CBC)

Mount Pearl North 

  • Liberal: Nicole Kieley
  • NL Alliance: *William Neville (being declared a candidate at 3 p.m. NT Wednesday)
  • PC: Jim Lester — Incumbent

Nicole Kieley faced Jim Lester in a byelection on Nov. 21, 2017, when she ran for the NDP.

Mount Scio

  • Liberal: Sarah Stoodley
  • NL Alliance: Graydon Pelley
  • PC: Lloyd Power

The district of Mount Scio has most recently been held by NDP-turned-Liberal-turned-Independent Dale Kirby, who has not yet indicated if he will seek re-election. 

Placentia – St. Mary’s

  • Liberal: Sherry Gambin-Walsh — Incumbent
  • PC: Hilda Whalen

Placentia West – Bellevue

  • Liberal: Mark Browne — Incumbent

St. Barbe – L’Anse aux Meadows

  • Liberal: Christopher Mitchelmore — Incumbent

St. George’s – Humber

  • Liberal: Scott Reid — Incumbent
  • NL Alliance: Shane Snook
  • PC: *Two people are vying for nomination

St. John’s Centre 

  • Liberal: Seamus O’Keefe
  • NDP: Jim Dinn
  • PC: Jonathan Galgay

Former NDP leader Gerry Rogers represented the district of St. John’s Centre since 2011 when she defeated longtime Tory Shawn Skinner with 54 per cent of the vote. This race includes three familiar faces who are new to provincial politics. 

St. John’s East – Quidi Vidi 

  • Liberal: George Murphy
  • NDP: *Alison Coffin (not yet declared)

Long held by former NDP leader Lorraine Michael, the New Democrats’ new leader, Alison Coffin, hopes to keep the district orange. George Murphy is no stranger to politics, having served as an MHA under the NDP. Before that, he was a Liberal. 

St. John’s West

  • Liberal: Siobhan Coady — Incumbent
  • PC: Shane Skinner
  • NDP: Brenda Walsh

Stephenville – Port au Port

  • Liberal: John Finn — Incumbent
  • PC: Tony Wakeham

Tony Wakeham unsuccessfully challenged Tory leader Ches Crosbie for the PC leadership in 2018. 

Terra Nova

  • Liberal: Colin Holloway — Incumbent
  • PC: Lloyd Parrott

Topsail – Paradise

  • Liberal: Patricia Hynes-Coates
  • PC: Paul Dinn — Incumbent

Patricia Hynes-Coates and Paul Dinn will be used to battling each other in the district of Topsail-Paradise, having just come off a byelection earlier this year. The vote was triggered after former Tory leader Paul Davis stepped away from politics. 

Torngat Mountains

  • Liberal: Randy Edmunds — Incumbent

Virginia Waters – Pleasantville 

  • Liberal: Bernard Davis — Incumbent
  • NDP: Jenn Deon
  • PC: Beth Crosbie

Siblings Beth and Ches Crosbie are both vying for seats in St. John’s in the 50th election in Newfoundland and Labrador. (Facebook)

Waterford Valley 

  • Liberal: Tom Osborne — Incumbent

Windsor Lake

  • Liberal: Bob Osborne
  • PC: Ches Crosbie — Incumbent 

Read more from CBC Newfoundland and Labrador