Ontario moves 3 regions into stricter COVID-19 zones

TORONTO —  The Ontario government is tightening restrictions on three more regions in an effort to curb the spread of COVID-19.

Moving into the “orange” zone are the Middlesex-London and Thunder Bay areas.

The Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit moves to the “yellow” category of the province’s COVID-19 restriction system.

The new designations kick in on Monday.

The change to orange includes restrictions on visitors to long-term care homes and beefed up testing in the facilities.

[ Sign up for our Health IQ newsletter for the latest coronavirus updates ]

The measures will be in place for at least 28 days.

Story continues below advertisement

“Over the last seven days, we have seen the trends in key public health indicators continue to go in the wrong direction in these three regions,” Health Minister Christine Elliott said.

“By taking proactive action and moving these regions to a higher level in the framework, we are helping them to reduce transmission in the community and avoid broader closures.”

Click to play video 'Coronavirus: Ontario surpasses critical number of ICU patients' Coronavirus: Ontario surpasses critical number of ICU patients

Coronavirus: Ontario surpasses critical number of ICU patients

© 2020 The Canadian Press

View original article here Source